• Advisor: Mrs. Krystle Tiedeman  |

    Debate is an activity for anyone who enjoys active research, discussions, speech writing, oratorical presentations, and competition. In addition you must be very responsible as a student and willing to put in the extra work that it takes to miss your classes and travel to other schools for the competition. You should serve as a role model of the intellectual and academic representing Northern Lehigh. You should become a true team member of the entire team not just your own individual team.

    Debate Team consists of 4 teams: 2 that represent the affirmative side of an argument and 2 that represent the negative side of an argument. It is however important to know both sides of the argument.

    • 16 students are able to fill the slots of speakers, questioner, or rebuttalist.

    • Speakers present 5 minute oratorical arguments that support their teams side of the argument. They are then questioned on the topic for 2 and 1/2 minutes about their speech and the topic.

    • There are 2 speakers for each team and one questioner.

    • The questioner must carefully listen to the speakers and try to find flaws in their logic by asking them intelligently prepared and impromptu questions.

    • The final team member to compete is the rebuttalist, who must be able to expertly and carefully rip the others teams arguments to shreds in a polite yet dynamic 5 minute presentation prepared at the scene.

    There are 4 rounds of league competition in the regular season where we travel to Pennridge, Catasauqua, and Salisbury.

    Tryouts are held for the 3 rounds of the semi finals which we travel to Wilson, Northwestern, and Kutztown. Only 4 of the best will compete. The top 2 teams from that competition will battle against each other in the finals for the coveted LVIDA cup. Their audience is all the debate team members from all participating schools. This year we traveled to Saucon Valley for that event and ended the year with an Ice cream sundae social.

    There are trophies for the winners of the regular season as well as the finals champions.